What Are the Best 4 TOGAF Certification Levels?

Description: If you are considering a TOGAF certification, you must figure out which level of certification you desire. Learn the four TOGAF certification levels here.

If you are interested in or involved with business architecture, it’s likely you have heard of the TOGAF standard and its certification levels.

TOGAF stands for The Open Group Architecture Framework. Founded in 1995, it quickly rose to popularity. By 2016, 80 percent of Global 50 companies—and 60 percent of Fortune 500 companies—relied on this framework to keep business moving.

The goal of TOGAF for business is to reduce errors and keep in line with established timelines. Additionally, it helps keep architectural teams on budget and in line with all units within the business. This ultimately produces high-caliber results.

Business architecture professionals can become certified in TOGAF. This designation illustrates their understanding of this method and how it can be utilized in the workplace.

To learn more about TOGAF certification levels, keep reading below!

What Is the TOGAF Standard?

As it says in the name, TOGAF was developed by The Open Group. It is free for use by organizations internally—but not commercially.

Instead, there are software programs certified by The Open Group for this purpose. As it currently stands, eight certified TOGAF tools exist. There are also 71 accredited courses coming from 70 organizations, today.

There are various TOGAF certification exams, with one or more of each required depending on the level of certification. There are many TOGAF certification benefits that follow suit after obtaining each level.

TOGAF Certification Levels

The first level is TOGAF 9 Foundation. This is best suited for those with a baseline level of knowledge of the TOGAF 9 standard. To earn this level of certification, you must pass the Part 1 test.

The second is TOGAF 9 certified, aimed at professionals with a deeper understanding of the TOGAF 9 standard. This test requires passing both Part 1 and Part 2 tests.

The third level is the TOGAF Business Architecture Level 1. This is best suited for professionals seasoned in business modeling.

It also requires knowledge of TOGAF business scenarios and information mapping, among other processes. It requires passing the Business Architecture Part 1 exam.

Finally, the TOGAF Essentials 2018 certification is the highest level. This is a comprehensive certification, for qualified professionals with at least three hours of training under their belt. They must also answer 20 multiple-choice questions as part of the training process.

After the training element is completed, The Open Group invites those successful to take the online assessment. You must already be TOGAF 9 certified to reach this level.

Consider a TOGAF Certification Program for Yourself

TOGAF provides so many benefits to enterprise architecture and the well-being of a business as a whole. Mainly, TOGAF allows for greater efficiency by strengthening architectural frameworks.

It also keeps everyone speaking the same language—something that ensures business moves ahead smoothly.

Finally, utilizing the TOGAF method creates processes to support future development via a staged approach.

With careful research on the various TOGAF certification levels, you can find a program that best supports the development of your goals—both personally for the business as a whole.

If you found this content helpful, check out our other business articles!

Leave a Comment